fit pregnancy, pregnancy, Running

Pregnancy Running Grievances

Running while pregnant can be pretty uncomfortable. I have not faced any major issues, but below are my top complaints.

Decreasing Speed: I had no idea how early on in my pregnancy I would start to slow down. I thought it would happen in the later months, but for me, it was almost immediate. Before pregnancy, when I would go out for an easy run, I would run about 9:30 minute miles. Now my easy runs are coming in at around 12 minute a mile and I get slower each time I go out. The decreased speed really bothered me at first, especially before I started to show. I had the false notion that people were judging me. I still have to constantly remind myself why I am slow and I try my best not to look at the clock.

asdf

Before and After 😦

Increased Thirst: I have been thirsty all the time! This isn’t just occurring when I am running. It is something I face when I am just sitting at my desk or at home doing nothing. I have also found if I do not drink enough water, my hands and feet swell slightly. I have started carrying Gatorade with me on my long runs because water alone isn’t cutting it now. I also try to run in areas near my home with drinking fountains so I can have both.

 

Pelvic pain: Pelvic pain is by far the most annoying aspect of pregnancy I have had to face. I can’t really even explain how this horrible sensation feels because I’ve never experienced anything like it before, but it is an absolute nuisance! Running doesn’t aggravate this problem very much though and it is at its worst when I am trying to sleep.

Increased Urination: I constantly feel like I have to pee (even when I don’t actually have to). On my last 12 mile run I had to stop to use the restroom twice. I would have stopped more if there weren’t so many tourists out by the time I was able to run.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Pregnancy Running Grievances

  1. Oh no 😦 at least you know it’s temporary and will be totally worth it!!! At least you are able to run while pregnant (do you just have to take it easy? can you run throughout the whole pregnancy? I’ve always wondered…) Keep up the great work… you’re doing awesome just by still getting out there and getting a run in! Running 7+ miles while pregnant is a huge accomplishment in my book! 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks! I am a lot slower, but running seems to relax my mind a lot. I do plan to quit and find another activity if I stop enjoying it or I start to feel pain. My doctor said I could continue running the same distances I was doing before pregnancy. I just can’t up my mileage significantly or try anything new.

    Like

Leave a Reply

